Idiot Idiom: It Goes Without Saying

It goes without saying“, doesn’t. Clearly. Especially when the person is, in fact, saying it. Yes, I said it. Who needs that phrase? I don’t, its evil. Do you know what I need? Thanksgiving! What a wonderful tradition Thanksgiving is, but It goes without saying for no other reason than to just say it? That is a problem. It knows it, the user doesn’t, and the planet is a vortex of irrational rationale because of it.

Definition – It Goes Without Saying: Something that should be generally accepted or understood.
Really? Something that should be generally accepted or understood? Ironic. What irony? Don’t worry, I’ll spoon-feed you the chicken noodle soup of truth. I’m kidding, ok, I’m not.

If “It goes without saying” should be generally accepted or understood, it should ACTUALLY go without saying! Thus, eliminating the idiotic idiom. Ideal, right? Am I angry? No, I’m not angry. CAPS LOCK is angry, and visually unappealing, and Samuel L. Jackson’s natural speaking voice. I digress.

What do we have here? Legions of people using “It goes without saying” without recognizing that, by definition, there is no need to say it. The only thing that goes without saying is something that you were gracious enough not to say.

Well, that was a fun! I’m new to WordPress by way of an extremely active Social Network and pretending to blog on Blogger. I hope that you enjoyed it. Subscribe if you’d like, tell your loved and loathed ones, and follow the mighty @Ironsheek on Twitter.

Love,

@Ironsheek

 

About Travanti

I'm an actor, satirist (read that slowly, or you could get the wrong idea), comedic writer (contingent upon who finds my work funny), & macro/microcosmic social commentator. An alum of the University of Louisville, and Syracuse University (Newhouse Television Radio & Film M.S.)... aren't I being shockingly cavalier about it all?

Posted on October 7, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Kind of like the phrase “It is what it is.” I mean, come on, duh. Can something be what it isn’t? No, of course not. That goes without saying. (Sorry, I had to.)

    • Indeed! Illogical idioms are no better than tie-fighters. I agree with you. I love when people say “It is what it is”, because it isn’t.

  1. Pingback: Word Nerd « The Arbitrary Fairy

